• Julius Baer Gold Cup - Day 1

    Abu Dhabi and Zedan had a successful premiere at the Julius Baer Gold Cup 2018


    Abu Dhabi Polo Team and Zedan Polo had a successful debut at the Julius Baer Gold Cup 2018 that kick off today at the Al Habtoor Polo Resort & Club.


    Abu Dhabi defeated Wolves by 8 goals to 5 and Zedan won his match against UAE Polo by 13 goals to 9 in an attractive double action day.


    In the opening game of the Julius Baer Gold Cup, two full speed initial chukkers by Abu Dhabi, with a 3-0 and 5-1 in the score, made the difference for the rest of the game despite Wolves great effort to get back in the match.


    Match Progression:

    Abu Dhabi: 3-0/ 5-1/ 5-2/ 6-4/ 8-5

    Top Scorer of the match: Alfredo Capella (Abu Dhabi) 6 goals


    In the second match of the day, Zedan Polo Team, the McLaren Cup winners and defending champions of the Gold Cup, started the 2018 edition in the best way.


    Patron Amr Zedan´s team played a great match, with a perfect foursome performance and ten goaler superstar, Pablo Mac Donough scoring 7 goals.


    Zedan: 2-2/ 5-3/ 7-5/ 13-5/ 13-9

    Top Scorer of the match: Pablo Mac Donough (Zedan) 7 goals


    The Julius Baer Gold Cup 2018 will continue tomorrow with a single match for the second action day at the Al Habtoor Polo Resort & Club.


    Mahra Polo will play against Desert Palm from 4pm.


    The Julius Baer Gold Cup (Dubai Open), an 18-goal handicap competition, is one of the only tournaments in the United Arab Emirates to be recognized and certified by the World Polo Tour (WPT) and ranked by the highly coveted ‘WPT Cup’, resulting in winners receiving 60 points for their victory. The tournament is played under the banner of the Hurlingham Polo Association (HPA) and under strict international supervision according to the HPA rules and provision of its umpires.


    Participating teams include:


    • UAE Polo Team - Patron Her Highness Sheikha Maitha bint Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum

    • Habtoor Polo - Patron Mohammed Al Habtoor

    • Wolves Polo Team - Patron Habtoor Al Habtoor

    • Mahra Polo - Patron Rashid Al Habtoor

    • Bin Drai Polo Team - Patron Saeed Bin Drai

    • Zedan Polo Team - Patron Amr Zedan

    • Abu Dhabi Team - Patron Faris Al Yabhouni

    • Desert Palm Team - Patron Tariq AlBawardy